Advanced Search

Outstanding Prince William County teachers and principals to be honored Jan. 30

Twenty-nine teachers have been nominated by school staff and parents for PWCS Teacher of the Year and two principals have been nominated for PWCS Principal of the Year.

Teacher packets will be evaluated based on award criteria including the teacher’s ability to instill in students a desire to learn and achieve; understand the individual needs of students; and demonstrate a thorough knowledge of subject matter, and have the ability to share it effectively with students.

Criteria for selection of the Principal of the Year include ability to manage effectively, demonstrate and encourage creativity and innovation, foster cooperation between the school and the community, encourage team spirit, demonstrate leadership and exemplify commitment, and continue to play an active role in the classroom.

Nominees for the School Division’s Teacher and Principal of the Year Awards and educators who received their National Board Certification will be honored by the Prince William County School Board and Superintendent on Tuesday, January 30, at a reception at Colgan High School at 6 p.m. The snow date is Tuesday, February 27 at Colgan High School.
Congratulations to these World-Class educators and administrators:


Christina Badorrek, Patriot High School
Katherine Brush, Loch Lomond Elementary School
Maureen Burns, Bennett Elementary School
Jennifer Dittamo, King Elementary School
Jason Fairman, Gainesville Middle School
Sarah Gilbert, T. Clay Wood Elementary School
Starr Granby, Minnieville Elementary School
Allison Holzgang, Colgan High School
Mary Hubbell, Buckland Mills Elementary School
Mary Hustwayte, Pattie Elementary School
Perpetua Magalhaes, Stonewall Jackson High School
Katrina Martino, Graham Park Middle School
Andrew McCarthy, Woodbridge High School
Jennifer Nemec, Osbourn Park High School
Ashley Olsen-Potthast, Buckland Mills Elementary School
Shari Partridge, Mullen Elementary School
Michelle Pucci, Buckland Mills Elementary School
Michael Pullum, Forest Park High School
Sandra Robertson, T. Clay Wood Elementary School
Robert Scott, Osbourn Park High School
Erin Travis, Mullen Elementary School
John Treadwell, Colgan High School
Johnna Tselides, Piney Branch Elementary School
Michael Viola, Woodbridge High School
Kelly Wheeler, Minnieville Elementary School
Cynthia Williams, New Directions Alternative Center
Lavonda Wortham, Potomac High School
Anthony Wyman, Hylton High School
Jennifer Young, Ashland Elementary School


Andrew Buchheit, T. Clay Wood Elementary School

Robert Eichorn, New Directions (Independence Nontraditional School)

Link to This Article

Copy and paste the code below on your site to link to the article.

<a href="">Outstanding Prince William County teachers and principals to be honored Jan. 30</a>

Follow Us on Twitter!/bullrunnow
Welcome Guest! | Login