Advanced Search

49 Prince William schools designated School of Excellence for 2016-17

Schools across the county will be celebrating in the coming months, as 49 have earned the title, “School of Excellence,” two more than took the honor last year. School of Excellence is the highest recognition awarded to a school by the Prince William County School Board. Selection is based on each school’s performance data for the 2016-17 school year.

Those honored include 35 elementary, three combined (K-8, traditional), six middle, and five high schools. Many have received the coveted designation for several consecutive years, with some schools having earned it for nearly every year the honor has been in existence.

“This tells us our schools are making real progress in helping students achieve proficiency in the core subject areas that are vital to their future success,” said PWCS Superintendent Dr. Steven Walts. “We’re proud of the results and remain committed to continuous improvement for all students.”

Schools of Excellence must be fully accredited by the state. In addition, schools are measured on various Strategic Plan indicators, including overall subject pass rates, reduction of achievement gaps between student groups, improvement in student performance, wellness, and stakeholder satisfaction. High schools are also assessed for graduation rates and for the percentage of students earning “pass advanced” status on standardized tests. Schools are awarded bonus points based on several criteria.

Schools of Excellence for 2016-17 are:

Alvey Elementary School
Ashland Elementary School

Battlefield High School
Bel Air Elementary School
Belmont Elementary School
Bennett Elementary School
Benton Middle School
Brentsville District High School
Bristow Run Elementary School
Buckland Mills Elementary School
Bull Run Middle School

Cedar Point Elementary School
Chris Yung Elementary School
Coles Elementary School

Enterprise Elementary School

Fitzgerald Elementary School
Forest Park High School

Gainesville Middle School
Glenkirk Elementary School
Gravely Elementary School

Haymarket Elementary School
Henderson Elementary School

Lake Ridge Elementary School
Lake Ridge Middle School
Loch Lomond Elementary School

Marshall Elementary School
Marsteller Middle School
McAuliffe Elementary School
Mountain View Elementary School

Nokesville School

Occoquan Elementary School
Old Bridge Elementary School
Osbourn Park High School

Patriot High School
Pattie Elementary School
Penn Elementary School
Pennington Traditional School
Piney Branch Elementary School
Porter Traditional School

Reagan Middle School
River Oaks Elementary School
Rosa Parks Elementary School

Springwoods Elementary School

T. Clay Wood Elementary School
Triangle Elementary School
Tyler Elementary School

Victory Elementary School

Westridge Elementary School
Wilson Elementary School

School of Excellence celebrations will take place at designated locations throughout the coming months. Look for information from individual schools. For now, parents and community members can begin recognizing the teachers, administrators, staff, and students, of new Schools of Excellence for a job well done.

Link to This Article

Copy and paste the code below on your site to link to the article.

<a href="">49 Prince William schools designated School of Excellence for 2016-17</a>

Follow Us on Twitter!/bullrunnow
Welcome Guest! | Login